Need Macbookair help

Homepage Forums Sevilian Watering Hole Need Macbookair help

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Little green man
    Participant

Natasha has a Macbook Air laptop. Her 4 year old daughter AJ was playing on it and now the keyboard will only type in CAPITAL LETTERS plus the number row will only show the top symbols such as @#$%^% etc (and yes I’m swearing there as well as demonstrating what it does)

I’ve tried searching the interwebs and have discovered a) Macbook air help is pretty much non existent b) Mac service replies are pretty unhelpful as they assume you know *everything* about how Macs work in the first place and c) the Mac public community forums as a whole are largely unhelpful jerks that simply reply “Ha Ha.. your Macbook is narfed… teehee.. farts are funny” or something even less useful than that.

I’m a PC guy. Macs are an alien planet to me so assume I’m a complete noob and don’t know what you’re talking about specifically or where to look. Use small words and please describe even the most obvious steps on what to do.

I managed to log in to the Macbook by using an external keyboard, which is recognizes just fine and have run the keyboard viewer. All keys indicate that they are working but yet pressing caps lock turns on the caps lock light but refuses to change to lower case letters. Pressing it off again has no effect. The Fn keys only make a ‘bong’ error noise, and I don’t know if that’s normal or not.

I’ve checked that ‘mouse keys’ are disabled and all keyboard settings appear normal, but since I don’t know the original settings, that may not be the case…

So, can anybody help?

NovaFlash
    Keymaster

Sounds to me like either your keyboard is fucked (shift key broken and continuously pressing down) or that you have MAYBE some ‘accessibility’ feature enabled (although I can’t think of any that does this and it frankly doesn’t make sense).

Little green man
    Participant